Holidays are celebrated with joy at Congregation Beth Israel Judea. Our goal is to create a home for every soul by offering a variety of Jewish holiday experiences to nourish the mind, heart and spirit. Please click on our Calendar to view upcoming holidays and celebrations, and check the front page of the website for current information regarding holiday programs and events. Chag Sameach!

Holiday Schedule for 5777 (2016-17)

Selichot 22 Elul Saturday, September 24, 2016
Erev Rosh Hashanah 1 Tishrei Sunday, October 2, 2016
Rosh Hashanah 1 – 2 Tishrei Monday, October 3 - Tuesday, October 4, 2016
Shabbat Shuvah 6 Tishrei Saturday, October 8, 2016
Erev Yom Kippur - Kol Nidre 10 Tishrei Tuesday, October 11, 2016
Yom Kippur 10 Tishrei Wednesday, October 12, 2016
Erev Sukkot 15 Tishrei Sunday, October 16, 2016
Sukkot 15 – 21 Tishrei Monday, October 17 - Sunday, October 23, 2016
Shemini Atzeret 22 Tishrei Monday, October 24, 2016
Simchat Torah 23 Tishrei Tuesday, October 25, 2016
Chanukah 1st Candle 24 Kislev Saturday, December 24, 2016
Chanukah 24 Kislev – 2 Tivet Sunday, December 25, 2016 - Sunday, January 1, 2017
Tu B'Shevat 15 Shevat Saturday, February 11, 2017
Erev Purim 14 Adar Saturday, March 11, 2017
Purim 14 Adar Sunday, March 12, 2017
Erev Pesach 14 Nisan Monday, April 10, 2017
Pesach 15 – 22 Nisan Tuesday, April 11 – April 18, 2017

Yom HaZikaron

5 Iyyar Monday, May 1, 2017
Yom HaAtzma’ut 6 Iyyar Tuesday, May 2, 2017
Lag B’Omer 18 Iyyar Sunday, May 14, 2017
Yom Yerushalayum 28 Iyyar Wednesday, May 24, 2017
Erev Shavuot 5 Sivan Tuesday, May 30, 2017
Shavuot 6 – 7 Sivan Wednesday, May 31 - June 1, 2017

 

 

*Tishah B'av: A Brief History

in Jewish Holidays
Tishah B'Av means "Ninth of Av" and refers to a Jewish day of fasting and mourning.Excerpted from The Jewish Home by Daniel B. Syme. URJ PressTraditionally Tishah B'Av is the darkest of all days, a time set aside for mourning the destruction of both ancient…